This is a young looking Thomas Greenwood, possibly a wedding photo in 1892.
This is a young looking Thomas Greenwood, possibly a wedding photo in 1892.

I had to look up the plural of Thomas. I was surprised to find it is Thomases. I needed to know this because I am writing the family history and there are many Thomas Greenwoods. In my direct line there are four Thomases, and I have built family trees for three other Thomases around in Ryedale in the late 18th century.

This photo is my Great Grandfather, Thomas Greenwood, who was born in Welburn, Yorkshire, on the Castle Howard estate in 1862. He comes from a long line of Thomas Greenwoods, living in Ryedale in North Yorkshire.

I will be blogging this Thomas story in due course, but will start my story of the many Thomases with his Grandfather, another Thomas Greenwood born in the neighbouring village of Thornton le Clay in 1808.

This story of Thomases may take a few diversions to other North Yorkshire villages and other Greenwood families that moved to Ryedale at the end of the 18th century. I  researched these stray families trying to to establish links with Thomas above, mostly to no avail.

My Thomas Greenwood ancestory line is shown in the chart below, along with spouses.  So please refer back to this if you loose track in subsequent family stories.
Ancestors of THomas Greenwood

